The Academy Forum

Introduction to the Academy

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Blair Thielemier 6 days, 8 hours ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

lacyturman28
    Participant

Hi everyone, my name is Lacy Turman and I am new to the Academy. I currently work from home for the Central Pharmacy Operations of a large retail chain. It is a unique position that I have been doing for 5 years now. I love the convenience of working from home but the work schedules have been getting worse each year and I am tired of having handle times be the main focus over quality of work and patient care. My husband and I are looking to start a family soon and as many of you know, retail is all about those numbers and less about quality of life. I am moving this summer to a smaller community near San Antonio, Texas and I decided that a small town community (like where I grew up) would provide a great opportunity to branch out and look for a new career path. I worked in an independent pharmacy in Austin during college and loved it and it has always been my dream to go back to that type of environment. My goal is to start with MTM consulting for local independents as well as to set up several collaborative practice agreements in my new town and eventually branch out into the surrounding rural communities. I am also interested in adding on nutritional services, as well as, immunization services once I get established. I am currently in the beginning research stages of starting my consulting business since reaching out to pharmacies and physicians is a little difficult until we actually move.